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Introduction

This publication contains general information regarding the withholding of Virginia income tax from wages. You 
should use this booklet as a reference guide, not as a substitute for the complete tax law provided by the Code 
of Virginia or the regulations and public documents published by the Department. 

Important Due Date for Forms VA-6, W-2 and 1099

The due date for the Employer’s Annual Summary of Virginia Income Tax Withheld (Form VA-6 or Form VA-6H) 
along with required wage statements (Forms W-2 and 1099) is January 31.  If a business closes, these forms 
must be filed within 30 days after the last month in which wages were paid.

Where to Get Assistance

Visit our website at www.tax.virginia.gov to:

c download forms and instructions

c get filing information

c review answers to frequently asked questions

c e-mail the Department your questions

Call our Central Office. 

The telephone number is (804) 367-8037.

Tenemos servicios disponible en Español. 
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Online File and Pay Options

The Virginia Department of Taxation offers three free online filing and ACH Debit payment options.  Each option 
allows you to schedule your payment on a date that you specify and provides immediate filing and payment 
confirmation. If you prefer to make payments by ACH Credit, use Business iFile or Web Upload to submit the 
required reconciliation Forms VA-6 and/or VA-16, as applicable. See below for details.

1. eForms – an easy option for all taxpayers.  Whether you have little to no computer experience or you are an 
expert, eForms is the easiest and fastest way to file and pay electronically.

•	 Prepare your return without having to enroll or login

•	 Fill in the fields on a return that looks just like the paper return, with eForms performing some of the 
calculations for you

•	 Save time by storing your account and banking information for your next filing

•	 Go to www.tax.virginia.gov/eforms

2. Business iFile – for the taxpayer who wants to do more than file and pay electronically. From updating 
contact and address information to adding new business locations, Business iFile provides full service online 
account maintenance.

•	 Enroll and login with the user ID and password that you select

•	 Save time by storing your account and banking information for your next filing

•	 File returns and make payments electronically, with iFile performing the calculations for you

•	 View up to 14 months of your filing history

•	 Form W-2 filing is not available through Business iFile

•	 Go to www.tax.virginia.gov/ifile

3. Web Upload – for the taxpayer with computer experience.  With this option, you can send tax return and 
payment files from your computer directly to the Department.

•	 Enroll and login with the user ID and password that you select

•	 Use a variety of file types, including Excel

•	 View up to 24 months of uploaded file information

•	 Form W-2 filing is available through Web Upload

•	 Go to www.tax.virginia.gov/webupload

4. ACH Credit – Used to make electronic payments directly into the state’s bank account. 

•	 You must contact your financial institution and make arrangements to credit the state’s bank account  
with funds from your bank account. 

•	 Your financial institution will advise you of ACH origination services offered and any associated costs.

All of the Department’s online services are  
free, easy to use, secure, and available 24/7 at

www.tax.virginia.gov.
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Registering for a Withholding Tax Account

Who Must Register

You must have a Virginia withholding account if you have 
an employee who is earning income while in Virginia. This 
includes a person or business that pays wages or salaries 
for services performed in Virginia or pays pensions or 
annuities to Virginia residents. 

Visit our website at www.tax.virginia.gov/ireg to register 
your business. You may also register with the Virginia 
Employment Commission (VEC) at the same time you 
register your business online with the Department. 

Registering online has many advantages. It is fast, easy, 
secure, and most of all reduces errors. You also have the 
ability to save your registration and complete it at a later 
time.

If you prefer to register on paper, complete Form R-1 
(Registration Application). For faster processing, provide 
all of the requested information.

When to Register

You should register your business before you begin 
withholding wages. If you have not registered by the date 
that your first tax payment is due, send the payment with 
Form R-1 and a letter explaining what period the payment 
covers. 

Filing Frequency Status

If your estimated total 
withholding is:

You are required to 
file:

$300 or less per quarter quarterly

$301 to $2,999 per quarter monthly

$3,000 or more per quarter semi-weekly

After you have registered, your account will be reviewed 
each year and your filing status adjusted accordingly. If 
your filing frequency changes, you will receive a letter of 
notification for the appropriate filing frequency. Filing status 
changes are effective on January 1 of each year and remain 
in effect until the following January 1.

For businesses that are operating on a seasonal basis or 
paying wages or salaries only during certain months of 
the year, complete the “Seasonal Business” section when 
registering using iReg or on Form R-1. Your business will 
be assigned a seasonal filing status.

Your Virginia Account Number

The Virginia account number assigned by the Department 
will serve as the identification number for your withholding 
tax account and for your other major business tax accounts. 
Please use your account number on any returns, checks, 
or correspondence that you send to us.

Because your registration information also includes your 
Federal Employer’s Identification Number (FEIN), it is helpful 
if you also include that number on forms and correspondence. 
If the Internal Revenue Service assigns a new FEIN to your 
business because of a reorganization, change in business 
type, or change of ownership, you must file Form R-1 and 
obtain a new Virginia account number.

You should have only one Virginia account number. If you 
have more than one account number and do not know 
which one is correct, please contact us at (804) 367-8037. 
If you acquire another employer’s business, do not use that 
employer’s account number. Instead, complete Form R-1 and 
file it with a statement explaining the change in ownership.

Registration Changes

Report all changes to your business by updating your ac-
count online at www.tax.virginia.gov/iFile. You can make 
any of the following changes:

c  Update Addresses
c  End Liability for a Specific Tax Type
c  Update Contacts
c  Add a new Tax Type to an Existing Account
c  Close your Business

If you prefer to submit changes on paper, submit Form R-3, 
which can be downloaded from the Department’s website at 
www.tax.virginia.gov.

Do not use Form R-3 to report a name change that results 
from a change in ownership. Instead, file Form R-3 to close 
the former owner’s account and file Form R-1 to obtain a 
Virginia account number for the new owner. In the case of 
a corporate merger, a copy of the merger statement should 
be attached to Form R-3.

When to File

For timely filing, your return must be postmarked or received 
on or before the due date. 

Electronic Filing - Use eForms, iFile and Web Upload. 
When filing online, your return and payment will be received 
immediately and you can schedule your payment to be 
debited on a future date. Be sure to file by the due date to 
avoid late filing penalties and interest. 

Filing by Mail - When a payment or return is submitted by 
mail or commercial delivery service, it will be considered 
timely provided that either the envelope shows a postmark 
or bears a confirmation of shipment on or before midnight of 
the day the return is required to be filed. 

Visit the Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov, to 
learn more. 
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Virginia Withholding Tax Forms and Due Dates

Form Title Description

Employer Forms

iReg Online Registration

Used to register your business for withholding tax online at our website - www.tax.virginia.gov.

R-1 Registration Application

Used to register your business for withholding tax. The form is available on the Department’s website 
at www.tax.virginia.gov.

R-3 Registration Change Request

Used to report a change of name or address, or to notify the Department that an employer is no 
longer liable for withholding. File before the effective date of the change. If you do not have Form 
R-3, send a letter to the Department.

VA-5 Employer’s Return of Virginia Income Tax Withheld

Used by quarterly, monthly and seasonal filers. Quarterly returns are due on April 30, July 31, October 
31, and January 31. Monthly returns are due by the 25th day of the following month. Seasonal returns 
are due on the same dates as monthly returns, for each month that the business has employees.

VA-15 Employer’s Payment of Virginia Income Tax Withheld

Used by semi-weekly filers. Payments are due within three banking days of any federal cutoff date 
(generally Tuesdays and Fridays) if the accumulated tax liability exceeds $500. If the due date falls 
within three days of the due date for Form VA-16, the payment must be made with the Form VA-16 
submission.

VA-16 Employer’s Payments Quarterly Reconciliation and Return of Virginia Income Tax Withheld

Used by semi-weekly filers to reconcile payments for each calendar quarter. 

VA-6 Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of Virginia Income Tax Withheld

Annual or final summary of payments for the year. Form VA-6 is due by January 31 each year or 
within 30 days after the last payment of wages. 

Forms W-2 must be sent electronically using Web Upload. Forms W-2, W-2G, or 1099 information 
must be submitted if Virginia income tax withheld is reflected on the statements. Note: Form W-2 
and Form VA-6 information are two separate statements. Uploading Form W-2 data to Web Upload 
will NOT automatically create your Form VA-6. See instructions for filing electronically at www.tax.
virginia.gov.

VA-6H Household Employer’s Annual Summary of Virginia Income Tax Withheld

For household employers who elect to file their withholding tax returns on an annual basis. When 
filing Form VA-6H, Wage and Tax Statements (Form W-2) must also be submitted electronically 
for each employee using Web Upload or eForms.

Employee Forms

VA-4 Virginia Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificate

Used to report the number of exemptions that an employee is entitled to claim. Obtain one Form 
VA-4 from each employee on the date employment begins.

VA-4P Withholding Exemption Certificate for Recipients of Pension and Annuity Payments

Used to report the number of exemptions that a pension or annuity for recipients of pension is entitled 
to claim. Obtain one from each recipient before annuity payments begin.
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Who Must Withhold Virginia Income Tax

Who is an Employer

As a general rule, any person or entity that meets the 
definition of “employer,” which is described below, must 
withhold Virginia income tax. An employer is generally 
a person or entity that pays wages to employees for 
services performed in Virginia or makes pension or annuity 
payments to residents of Virginia.

The term “employer” includes the following: 

c An individual, fiduciary, partnership, association, 
joint enterprise, or corporation for whom an 
employee performs services

c The Commonwealth of Virginia, or any political 
subdivision thereof, or any agency or instrumentality 
thereof

c The United States or any agency or instrumentality 
thereof

c Payors of pensions or annuities to residents of 
Virginia, except that financial institutions are not 
considered employers with respect to payments 
from Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA) or 
simplified employee pension funds (SEP). 

An employer is generally subject to the Virginia 
withholding requirements if the employer is:

c A resident of Virginia
c Doing business in Virginia
c Domesticated under the laws of Virginia relating 

to the domestication of foreign corporations
c Making payments of wages or salaries to 

employees for services performed in Virginia 
c Making pension or annuity payments to residents 

of Virginia

Conformity to Federal Definitions

The determination of whether an employer-employee 
relationship exists for purposes of Virginia withholding 
requirements is made under federal law (Treas. Reg. 
§ 31.3401(c)-1). Anyone classified as an employer 
for federal purposes is also an employer for Virginia 
purposes.

Courtesy Filers

An employer who is not otherwise subject to the Virginia 
withholding requirements, but wishes to withhold Virginia 
income tax as a courtesy to employees who reside in 
Virginia, may register for an account number. Once 
registered, the employer will be subject to the same filing 
requirements as all other Virginia employers.

Who is an Employee

The term “employee” includes:

c An individual (resident or nonresident) who 
performs or performed services in Virginia for 
wages

c A resident of Virginia who performs or performed 
services outside Virginia for wages

c An officer, employee, or elected official of the 
United States, or any other state or territory, or 
any political subdivision thereof, or the District of 
Columbia, or any instrumentality or agency of the 
governments listed

c An officer of a corporation
c A resident of Virginia who receives pension or 

annuity payments

An employee is generally subject to Virginia income tax 
withholding if any of the following conditions are met:

c The individual receives taxable wages for services 
performed in Virginia and is not eligible for an 
exemption from withholding

c The individual is a resident of Virginia who receives 
taxable wages for services performed outside 
Virginia and does not qualify for an exemption from 
withholding

c The individual is a resident of Virginia and receives 
pension or annuity payments or both from which 
federal income tax has been withheld (except 
IRA and SEP payments) and is not eligible for an 
exemption from withholding

See “How to Compute the Tax” for additional information.

Taxable and Exempt Payments

Payments Subject to Withholding

Virginia law conforms to the federal definition of income 
subject to withholding. Virginia withholding is generally 
required on any payment for which federal withholding 
is required. This includes most wages, pensions and 
annuities, gambling winnings, vacation pay, bonuses, and 
certain expense reimbursements.

Payments Exempt From Withholding

Payments that are exempt from federal withholding are also 
exempt from Virginia withholding. In addition, the following 
payments are exempt from Virginia withholding:

c Payments made for acting in or serving as a 
crew member for movies, television series, 
commercials, or promotional films that are filmed 
totally or partially in Virginia by an employer that 
conducts business in Virginia for less than 90 
days and that edits, processes and markets the 
completed project outside Virginia

c Payments made from an IRA or SEP
c Payments made to nonresident employees of rail 

carriers, motor carriers, and water carriers
c Payments made to resident and nonresident 

merchant seamen
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Payments to Nonresidents Under Reciprocity 
Agreements

When you make wage or salary payments to a nonresident 
for services performed in Virginia, you typically must 
withhold Virginia income tax in the same manner as you 
would for a resident.

Virginia has entered into reciprocity agreements with other 
states for individuals who earn income in states other than 
their states of residence. The agreements allow those 
individuals to be taxed only by their state of residence 
on earned or business income, provided that certain 
conditions are met. The terms of the agreements eliminate 
a nonresident’s liability for Virginia income tax, as well as 
the requirement for withholding from payments made for 
services performed in Virginia.

Current reciprocity agreements affect Virginia withholding 
requirements for residents of the following states: Kentucky, 
the District of Columbia, Maryland, West Virginia and 
Pennsylvania. Withholding provisions for residents of these 
states who work in Virginia are described below.

Kentucky and the District of Columbia: 

Wage and salary payments to residents of these states 
are not subject to Virginia withholding if the employees 
commute daily to a place of employment in Virginia.

Maryland, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania: 

Wage and salary payments made to residents of these 
states are not subject to Virginia withholding if the 
employees meet the following conditions:

c The employee maintains a legal domicile in another 
state and lives in Virginia for less than 183 days of 
the taxable year (or does not live in Virginia at all)

c The only Virginia source income received during 
the year was from salaries or wages

c The Virginia source income is subject to taxation 
by the individual’s state of residence

Any nonresident who is exempt from Virginia withholding 
under a reciprocity agreement must indicate this on the 
Form VA-4, Employee’s Exemption Certificate, filed with 
his or her employer.

Payments to Other Nonresidents

Payments to the following nonresidents for services 
performed in Virginia are subject to withholding:

c Residents of non-reciprocity states. This includes 
residents of neighboring states (Tennessee 
and North Carolina) for which Virginia has no 
reciprocity agreement in place, as well as residents 
of other states who are working in Virginia on a 
temporary basis.

c Residents of Kentucky, the District of Columbia, 
Maryland, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania who 
do not meet the conditions for exemption under 
Virginia’s reciprocity agreements with those states.

Partially Exempt Employment

If an employee performs both taxable and nontaxable 
services for an employer (for example, services performed 
both in and outside Virginia) the entire payment for those 
services is subject to Virginia withholding if at least one-
half of the services are taxable. If less than one-half of 
the employee’s time is spent in services not subject to 
withholding, the entire payment is exempt.

Employee Withholding Exemption 
Certificates

Use of Exemption Certificates

To compute Virginia withholding tax for payments 
made to an employee, you need to know the number 
of personal exemptions that the employee can claim. 
The employee gives you this information on Form VA-4, 
Virginia Employee’s Income Tax Withholding Exemption 
Certificate. An employee would also use Form VA-4 to 
tell an employer that he or she is exempt from Virginia 
withholding. Recipients of pension and annuity payments use 
a different certificate, Form VA-4P, to report their exemption 
information to their payors. 

Keep exemption certificates in your records to support your 
computation of Virginia withholding tax for each employee. 
Do not send the certificates to the Department.

You must use the Virginia exemption certificates for 
computing Virginia withholding. Federal certificates (Forms 
W-4 or W-4P) may not be substituted.

Filing Exemption Certificates

Employees must file Form VA-4 with you when their 
employment begins. Form VA-4P should be filed before 
pension or annuity distributions begin. If no Form VA-4 
or VA-4P is filed, withhold Virginia income tax as if no 
exemptions had been claimed. A new Form VA-4 or Form 
VA-4P must be filed if the employee’s allowable number of 
exemptions changes or if an employee that was previously 
exempt from Virginia income tax becomes subject to 
the tax. The form should be filed within ten days of the 
employee’s change in status.

Note: Employers may establish a system to electronically 
receive Forms VA-4 from employees, provided the system 
meets Internal Revenue Service requirements as specified 
in Treas. Reg. § 31.3402(f)(5)-1(c).

Claiming Exemptions

The employee must complete the Personal Exemption 
Worksheet to determine the allowable number of 
exemptions for withholding purposes. An employee may 
not claim more than the number of personal exemptions 
that he or she is entitled to claim for purposes of filing an 
individual income tax return, unless the Department has 
authorized additional exemptions in writing.

In cases where an employee will be claiming a large amount 
of itemized deductions on his or her income tax return, 
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basing the withholding computation on the usual number 
of allowable exemptions may result in withholding too much 
tax. If an employee can show that such withholding has 
resulted in a refund of $300 or more for the preceding tax 
year, he or she may write to the Department of Taxation, 
P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 23218-1115 to request 
permission to claim additional withholding exemptions. The 
letter should include the employee’s name, social security 
number, estimated Virginia taxable income for the year, 
gross wages per pay period, and number of pay periods.

If you believe that an employee has claimed too many 
exemptions, please send a copy of the employee’s Form 
VA-4 to the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, 
Richmond, VA 23218-1115, and request a review of the 
information. The Department will notify you in writing 
whether you may accept the Form VA-4 as filed or whether 
the employee must file a new Form VA-4.

Additional Withholding

If an employee wants to have an additional amount of 
tax withheld from each paycheck, and you agree to do 
so, the employee must indicate the additional amount on 
Form VA-4 or Form VA-4P. If you do not agree to withhold 
additional tax, the employee may need to make estimated 
tax payments.

Exemption From Withholding

An employee is exempt from Virginia withholding if he or 
she meets any of the conditions listed on Form VA-4 or 
VA-4P. The employee must file a new certificate each year 
to certify the exemption. Be sure to keep copies of any 
certificate claiming exemption from withholding.

How to File and Pay the Tax

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements

All employers are required to submit all returns and 
payments electronically. The Department offers three filing 
options: eForms, Business iFile and Web Upload. Return 
and payment information is required to be submitted using 
these systems or by making payments by ACH Credit.

You can download an Electronic Payment Guide from the 
Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov.

How Often to File

Your filing status is determined by the average amount 
of income tax that you withhold each month. When you 
register your business for withholding tax, you are asked 
to estimate this figure so that the Department can assign 
a filing status. Based on that information, the Department 
assigns a quarterly, monthly, semi-weekly, or seasonal 
filing status. In addition, all employers must file an annual 
summary. You are not responsible for monitoring your 
monthly tax liability to see if a status change is needed. The 
Department reviews each account annually and makes any 
necessary changes. Notices of change in filing status are 
usually mailed during December of each year and become 
effective on January 1.

Liability for Filing - After you register for a withholding 
tax account, you must file a return for every period during 
which the account remains open, even if there is no tax 
due. If you do not expect to pay wages for an extended 
period of time, you may want to close the account until you 
begin paying wages again.

Extensions of Time for Filing and Payment - The 
Department will grant a reasonable extension of time for 
filing and/or payment when good cause exists. You must 
apply for an extension in writing before the due date of the 
applicable return. If the time for payment is extended, the 
Department will assess interest on the tax due from the 
original due date through the date of payment.

Semi-Weekly Filing

If your average monthly liability is $1,000 or more, the 
Department will assign a semi-weekly filing status to your 
account.

If the Virginia income tax withheld as of the close of any 
federal period is more than $500, a payment must be 
made within three banking days. Federal cutoff days for 
withholding deposits are generally Tuesday and Friday of 
each week. 

At the end of each calendar quarter, you are required to 
submit a reconciliation on Form VA-16, along with payment 
of any remaining tax due for the quarter. In addition, if the 
due date for Form VA-16 falls within three days of the due 
date of a current month’s semi-weekly payment, the current 
payment is included on Form VA-16. 

Special Rule for Semi-Weekly Filers - Semi-weekly 
filers are required to file a summary for each calendar 
quarter on Form VA-16. The total payments made for the 
quarter are subtracted from the actual tax withheld, and 
any remaining balance due is paid with the return. If the 
balance of tax due is more than 10% of the total tax liability 
for the quarter, a late payment penalty will be assessed on 
the amount over 10%.

Waiver - Certain employers may request a waiver from
 Virginia semi-weekly income tax withholding requirements. 
If the Tax Commissioner grants a waiver, the employer 
will be allowed to file withholding returns and pay the 
withholding tax on a monthly basis.

An employer must have no more than five employees who 
are subject to Virginia income tax withholding and must 
submit a request in writing to the Department no later 
than December 15 of the year prior to the year for which 
a waiver is being requested. To meet the employment 
requirement, an employer must certify that it employed an 
average number of no more than five employees during 
the current year, and that it does not foresee a change in 
the average number of employees during the upcoming 
year. The request must also set forth in detail the reasons 
for the waiver. Waiver requests should be submitted to: 

 Virginia Department of Taxation 
 Employer Withholding Waiver Request
 P.O. Box 1114 
 Richmond, Virginia 23218-1114 
 Or fax to (804) 367-2603. 
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The Department will notify the employer in writing whether 
such request has been granted. If a waiver is granted, the 
employer will be allowed to file withholding returns and pay 
the withholding tax on a monthly basis for the following 
calendar year. Waiver requests must be resubmitted each 
year by December 15 of the year prior to the year for which 
a waiver is being requested. For more information, contact 
the Department at (804) 367-8037, or visit the Department’s 
website, http://www.tax.virginia.gov.

Monthly Filing

If your average monthly withholding tax liability is over 
$100 but less than $1,000, a monthly filing status will be 
assigned.

Submit Form VA-5 and pay by the 25th day of the following 
month. A list of the due dates for monthly returns is shown 
below.

Month Due Date Month Due Date

January February 25 July August 25

February March 25 August September 25

March April 25 September October 25

April May 25 October November 25

May June 25 November December 25

June July 25 December January 25

Any tax due must be paid at the time you submit Form 
VA-5. You must submit a return for each month even if 
there is no tax due. 

Quarterly Filing

If the average monthly withholding tax liability is $100 or 
less, the Department will assign a quarterly filing status to 
your account. Submit Form VA-5 and pay by the last day 
of the following month. A list of the due dates for quarterly 
returns is shown below.

Quarter Ended Due Date

March 31 April 30

June 30 July 31

September 30 October 31

December 31 January 31

You must submit a return for each quarter even if there is 
no tax due. 

Seasonal Filing

As a seasonal filer, you are required to submit returns for 
the months that you designated when you registered, even 
if there is no tax due. Seasonal returns are submitted using 
Form VA-5 and are due on the 25th of the following month 
for each month that the business has an employee. To 
change the designated months, write to the Registration 
Unit, P.O. Box 1114, Richmond, VA 23218-1114.

Annual Summary

Form VA-6 - Every employer must submit Form VA-6, 
Annual Summary online using eForms, iFile or Web Upload 
at www.tax.virginia.gov.

Form VA-6 is due on January 31. If you close your account 
before the end of the year, you must file Form VA-6 within 
thirty days of the last month in which you pay wages. All 
employers must submit their VA-6 electronically.

Federal Income Statements - You must submit any 
federal income statements (Forms W-2 and 1099) that 
reflect Virginia withholding. Forms W-2 and 1099R may 
be submitted using Web Upload or eForms. If you have 
other federal series forms, such as the Forms W-2G or 
1099-INT that reflect Virginia withholding, these must be 
submitted on paper. 

Web Upload Reporting - You may file Forms W-2, 1099-
R and 1099-MISC electronically via the Web Upload 
system and receive immediate validation/feedback on your 
submitted data. Files must be formatted according to the 
SSA’s EFW2 and the IRS’s Publication 1220. The state 
code of (51) should be used to indicate Virginia income tax 
withheld. Details for filing by Web Upload can be found at 
http://www.tax.virginia.gov/content/withholding-tax2.

Note: Submitting Form W-2 information to the Department 
does not take the place of filing state employment data. 
That information must be transmitted separately to the 
VEC. 

Form 1099 Requirements - You are required to file Forms 
1099 with the Department when the forms show Virginia 
income tax withheld. 

While Virginia will accept records through the Combined 
Federal/State Filing Program (CF/SF) for Form 1099-R 
and/or Form 1099-MISC, it is recommended that you file 
your withholding information directly with the Department 
by our January 31 due date.  See the Web Upload 
Section above.

The withholding data submitted through the CF/SF 
program is received by Virginia much later in the 
year. Since the Department uses payer withholding 
records to combat refund fraud and identity theft, the 
delay in receipt of records through the CF/SF program 
can impact the processing of individual income tax 
returns. Without a payer copy on record with the 
Department, recipients may be contacted to provide 
additional documentation to substantiate their Virginia 
withholding claims and refund entitlements.

The Combined Federal/State Filing program does not 
include W-2 statements. W-2 data should be filed 
directly with the Department. 

If you elect to participate in the Combined Federal/State 
program, you must notify the Department in writing of 
your intent to participate in the program and whether or 
not you also will be submitting your 1099 withholding 
data directly with the Department. This notification must  
be provided to the Department by January 15 of each 
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year you participate in the program. Mail your intent to 
participate to the following address:

Virginia Department of Taxation
1099 Combined Fed/State Processing
P.O. Box 27264 
Richmond, VA 23261-7264

Adjustments to Returns

If you overpay your withholding tax, you may claim a credit 
on your return for the next period or request a refund. 
Refund requests should be mailed to Department of 
Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 23218-1115. The 
Department will allow a refund only if the tax in question 
was not actually withheld from an employee’s wages. 
Claims for credit or refund must be filed within three years 
from the due date of the return for the period in which the 
overpayment occurred. If you underpay your tax, report the 
underpayment on your next return and attach a detailed 
explanation. If the underpayment is not discovered until 
the end of the calendar year, you should pay the tax with 
your annual summary, Form VA-6.

Late Filing Penalty

The penalty for filing a withholding return after the due date 
is 6% of the tax due for every month or part of a month that 
the return is late. The maximum penalty is 30% of the tax 
due. The minimum penalty is $10.00. The minimum penalty 
applies even if there is no tax due.

Late Payment Penalty

The penalty for late payment of withholding tax is the 
same as the late filing penalty (6% per month), and the 
same minimum and maximum amounts apply. However, 
the late payment penalty does not apply to any month for 
which the late filing penalty has already been assessed. 
Therefore, the total combined penalties for late filing and 
late payment cannot exceed 30% of the tax due, and the 
minimum penalty of $10.00 can be assessed only once.

Interest

If tax is paid after the due date, even with an approved 
extension, interest is accrued on the tax due from the 
due date through the date of payment. The interest rate is 
the federal underpayment rate established under Internal 
Revenue Code § 6621, plus 2%.

Record Keeping Requirements

Your withholding tax records should include:

c The amounts and dates of wage payments made 
to each employee

c The amounts and dates of all Virginia income tax 
withheld from each employee

c The name, address, social security number, and 
period of employment for each employee

c An exemption certificate (Form VA-4 or VA-4P) for 
each employee

c Your account number and the amounts and dates 
of all tax payments made to the Department; and 

c A list of employees claiming exemption from 
withholding, including social security numbers

Keep all records for at least three years after the due date 
to which they relate or the date the tax was paid, whichever 
is later.

How to Compute the Tax

Tax Tables and Formula

Tables for computing the tax, based on weekly, bi-weekly, 
semi-monthly, monthly, and daily or miscellaneous pay 
periods are provided starting on page 11. To use a table, 
select the appropriate wage bracket in the left-hand column, 
then the number of exemptions from the top of the table to 
arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld. The tax amounts 
listed in the tables are rounded to the nearest dollar. To 
compute the exact amount of tax to be withheld, use the 
formula shown on page 10.

Determining the Payroll Period

For purposes of computing withholding, “payroll period” 
means the period of service (daily, weekly, monthly, etc.) for 
which you normally pay wages. You should use the same 
period that you use for federal withholding tax purposes. 
If you have a regular payroll period, use that period for 
computing the tax, even if your employee does not work for 
the entire period. If you do not have a regular payroll period 
in place, compute the tax using the Daily or Miscellaneous 
Withholding Tax Table. Special instructions for using that 
table are given below.

For a period of less than one week, you may compute 
the tax using a weekly payroll period, provided that the 
employee signs a statement certifying that he or she has 
not worked for any other employer for wages subject to 
withholding in that calendar week.

Using the Daily or Miscellaneous Withholding 
Table

To compute the tax using the Daily or Miscellaneous 
Withholding Tax Table:

(a) Count the number of days in the period covered by the
payment, including Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.
If the wages are not related to a specific period of time
(for example, commissions paid upon completion of a
sale), count the number of days back from the payment
date to the latest of the following dates:

1. The last wage payment made to that employee in
the same calendar year

2. The date employment began, if that date falls in
the same calendar year

3. January 1 of the year in which you are making the
payment

(b) Divide the wage payment by the number of days
computed under (a). This amount is the average daily
wage.

(c) Locate the average daily wage amount in the left
column of the Daily or Miscellaneous Withholding Tax
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Table, then compute the daily tax by selecting the 
appropriate number of exemptions from the top of the 
table.

(d) Multiply the daily tax by the number of days computed 
under (a) to compute the tax for the pay period.

Nonperiodic Payments

Pension and Annuity Payments - If the payment is 
subject to mandatory federal withholding of 20% or 28% 
or if payments are not made on a regular basis, withhold 
Virginia tax at a rate of 4%.

Vacation Pay and Bonuses - If vacation pay or bonuses 
are included with a regular wage payment, add those 
amounts to the gross wages for the period and withhold 
tax on the entire total using the withholding tax tables or 
formula. If the payments are not included with regular 
wage payments, compute the tax as described in the 
“Supplemental Wage Payments” section.

Supplemental Wage Payments - Add supplemental 
payments (such as commissions, overtime, back pay, and 
certain reimbursements) that are included with a regular 
wage payment to the gross wages and withhold tax on the 
entire total, using the withholding tax tables or the formula.

If the supplemental wage payment is made separately, 
compute the tax as follows:

(a) Add the supplemental wage payment to the regular 
wages for the current payroll period or to the wages 
for the last regular payroll period in the same calendar 
year.

(b) Compute the tax on the total from (a) using the 
withholding tax tables or formula.

(c) Compute the tax on the regular wages alone.

(d) Subtract the tax computed in (c) from the tax computed 
in (b). This is the amount that should be withheld from 
the supplemental payment.

However, if supplemental wage payments are paid and tax 
has been withheld from the employee’s regular wages, the 
employer may determine the tax to be withheld by using 
a flat percentage rate of 5.75%, without allowance for 
exemption and without reference to any regular payment 
of wages.

Other Methods for Computing the Tax

Virginia law allows the Tax Commissioner to approve the 
use of computation methods other than the formula and 
tables provided in this booklet. To apply for permission to 
use an alternative method, write to the Tax Commissioner, 
Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 2475, 
Richmond, VA  23218-2475. The requested method must 
result in substantially the same amount of tax withheld as 
you would compute using the tables or formula.

Because of several differences between Virginia and 
federal income tax laws, it is not possible to correctly 
compute the Virginia tax to be withheld by using a method 
comparable to the federal “percentage method” or by using 
a set percentage of the federal tax withheld.

Formula for Computing Tax to be Withheld

Legend 
G = Gross pay for pay period
P = Number of pay periods per year
A = Annualized gross pay (G x P)
E1 = Personal and Dependent Exemptions
E2 = Age 65 and Over & Blind Exemptions 
T = Annualized taxable income
W = Annualized tax to be withheld
W/H = Tax to be withheld for pay period

Formula (Effective January 1, 2008)

1. (G)P - [$3,000 + (E1 X $930) + (E2 X 800)] = T

2. If T is:  W is:

 Not over $3,000 2% of T

 Over But not Over Then

  $3,000 $5,000 $60 + (3% of excess over 
$3,000)

 $5,000 $17,000 $120 + (5% of excess over 
$5,000)

  $17,000  $720 + (5.75% of excess 
over $17,000)

3. W  ÷  P = W/H

Example

John claims exemptions for himself, his spouse, and their 
three children for withholding tax purposes. He is paid on 
a semi-monthly basis, and his gross wages for this pay 
period were $725.

1.  (G)P - [3,000 + (930)E1] = T
 (725)24 - [3,000 + (930)5] = T
 17,400 - 7,650 = 9,750

2. T is over $5,000, but not over $17,000
 $120 + 5% of $4,750 = W
 $120 + $237.50 = $357.50

3. W ÷ P = W/H
 $357.50 ÷ 24 = $14.90

The tax to be withheld for the current period is $14.90.

Pay Period Conversion Table (P)

Annual =   1 Semi-monthly =   24

Semiannual =   2 Bi-weekly =   26

Quarterly =   4 Weekly =   52

Monthly = 12 Daily = 300
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Withholding Tables for
Wages Paid
on or After

January 1, 2008
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Daily Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

0 $11 0.02 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
11 12 0.04 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
12 13 0.06 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
13 14 0.08 0.02 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
14 15 0.10 0.04 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
15 16 0.12 0.06 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
16 17 0.14 0.08 0.02 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
17 18 0.16 0.10 0.04 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
18 19 0.18 0.12 0.06 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
19 20 0.20 0.14 0.08 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
20 21 0.23 0.16 0.10 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
21 22 0.26 0.18 0.12 0.05 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
22 23 0.29 0.20 0.14 0.07 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
23 24 0.32 0.23 0.16 0.09 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
24 25 0.35 0.26 0.18 0.11 0.05 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
25 26 0.38 0.29 0.20 0.13 0.07 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
26 27 0.42 0.32 0.22 0.15 0.09 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
27 28 0.47 0.35 0.25 0.17 0.11 0.05 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
28 29 0.52 0.38 0.28 0.19 0.13 0.07 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
29 30 0.57 0.41 0.31 0.22 0.15 0.09 0.03 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
30 32 0.67 0.51 0.37 0.28 0.19 0.13 0.07 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.00
32 34 0.77 0.61 0.46 0.34 0.25 0.17 0.11 0.05 0.00 0.00 0.00
34 36 0.87 0.71 0.56 0.40 0.31 0.22 0.15 0.09 0.02 0.00 0.00
36 38 0.97 0.81 0.66 0.50 0.37 0.28 0.19 0.13 0.06 0.00 0.00
38 40 1.07 0.91 0.76 0.60 0.45 0.34 0.24 0.17 0.10 0.04 0.00
40 42 1.17 1.01 0.86 0.70 0.55 0.40 0.30 0.21 0.14 0.08 0.02
42 44 1.27 1.11 0.96 0.80 0.65 0.49 0.36 0.27 0.18 0.12 0.06
44 46 1.37 1.21 1.06 0.90 0.75 0.59 0.44 0.33 0.24 0.16 0.10
46 48 1.47 1.31 1.16 1.00 0.85 0.69 0.54 0.39 0.30 0.20 0.14
48 50 1.57 1.41 1.26 1.10 0.95 0.79 0.64 0.48 0.36 0.26 0.18
50 52 1.67 1.51 1.36 1.20 1.05 0.89 0.74 0.58 0.43 0.32 0.23
52 54 1.77 1.61 1.46 1.30 1.15 0.99 0.84 0.68 0.53 0.38 0.29
54 56 1.87 1.71 1.56 1.40 1.25 1.09 0.94 0.78 0.63 0.47 0.35
56 58 1.97 1.81 1.66 1.50 1.35 1.19 1.04 0.88 0.73 0.57 0.42
58 60 2.07 1.91 1.76 1.60 1.45 1.29 1.14 0.98 0.83 0.67 0.52
60 62 2.17 2.01 1.86 1.70 1.55 1.39 1.24 1.08 0.93 0.77 0.62
62 64 2.27 2.11 1.96 1.80 1.65 1.49 1.34 1.18 1.03 0.87 0.72
64 66 2.37 2.21 2.06 1.90 1.75 1.59 1.44 1.28 1.13 0.97 0.82
66 68 2.48 2.31 2.16 2.00 1.85 1.69 1.54 1.38 1.23 1.07 0.92
68 70 2.59 2.41 2.26 2.10 1.95 1.79 1.64 1.48 1.33 1.17 1.02
70 72 2.71 2.53 2.36 2.20 2.05 1.89 1.74 1.58 1.43 1.27 1.12
72 74 2.82 2.64 2.47 2.30 2.15 1.99 1.84 1.68 1.53 1.37 1.22
74 76 2.94 2.76 2.58 2.40 2.25 2.09 1.94 1.78 1.63 1.47 1.32
76 78 3.05 2.87 2.70 2.52 2.35 2.19 2.04 1.88 1.73 1.57 1.42
78 80 3.17 2.99 2.81 2.63 2.45 2.29 2.14 1.98 1.83 1.67 1.52
80 82 3.28 3.10 2.93 2.75 2.57 2.39 2.24 2.08 1.93 1.77 1.62
82 84 3.40 3.22 3.04 2.86 2.68 2.51 2.34 2.18 2.03 1.87 1.72
84 86 3.51 3.33 3.16 2.98 2.80 2.62 2.44 2.28 2.13 1.97 1.82
86 88 3.63 3.45 3.27 3.09 2.91 2.74 2.56 2.38 2.23 2.07 1.92
88 90 3.74 3.56 3.39 3.21 3.03 2.85 2.67 2.49 2.33 2.17 2.02
90 92 3.86 3.68 3.50 3.32 3.14 2.97 2.79 2.61 2.43 2.27 2.12
92 94 3.97 3.79 3.62 3.44 3.26 3.08 2.90 2.72 2.55 2.37 2.22
94 96 4.09 3.91 3.73 3.55 3.37 3.20 3.02 2.84 2.66 2.48 2.32
96 98 4.20 4.02 3.85 3.67 3.49 3.31 3.13 2.95 2.78 2.60 2.42
98 100 4.32 4.14 3.96 3.78 3.60 3.43 3.25 3.07 2.89 2.71 2.53

100 102 4.43 4.25 4.08 3.90 3.72 3.54 3.36 3.18 3.01 2.83 2.65
102 104 4.55 4.37 4.19 4.01 3.83 3.66 3.48 3.30 3.12 2.94 2.76
104 106 4.66 4.48 4.31 4.13 3.95 3.77 3.59 3.41 3.24 3.06 2.88
106 108 4.78 4.60 4.42 4.24 4.06 3.89 3.71 3.53 3.35 3.17 2.99
108 110 4.89 4.71 4.54 4.36 4.18 4.00 3.82 3.64 3.47 3.29 3.11
110 112 5.01 4.83 4.65 4.47 4.29 4.12 3.94 3.76 3.58 3.40 3.22
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Daily Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

112 114 5.12 4.94 4.77 4.59 4.41 4.23 4.05 3.87 3.70 3.52 3.34
114 116 5.24 5.06 4.88 4.70 4.52 4.35 4.17 3.99 3.81 3.63 3.45
116 118 5.35 5.17 5.00 4.82 4.64 4.46 4.28 4.10 3.93 3.75 3.57
118 120 5.47 5.29 5.11 4.93 4.75 4.58 4.40 4.22 4.04 3.86 3.68
120 122 5.58 5.40 5.23 5.05 4.87 4.69 4.51 4.33 4.16 3.98 3.80
122 124 5.70 5.52 5.34 5.16 4.98 4.81 4.63 4.45 4.27 4.09 3.91
124 126 5.81 5.63 5.46 5.28 5.10 4.92 4.74 4.56 4.39 4.21 4.03
126 128 5.93 5.75 5.57 5.39 5.21 5.04 4.86 4.68 4.50 4.32 4.14
128 130 6.04 5.86 5.69 5.51 5.33 5.15 4.97 4.79 4.62 4.44 4.26
130 132 6.16 5.98 5.80 5.62 5.44 5.27 5.09 4.91 4.73 4.55 4.37
132 134 6.27 6.09 5.92 5.74 5.56 5.38 5.20 5.02 4.85 4.67 4.49
134 136 6.39 6.21 6.03 5.85 5.67 5.50 5.32 5.14 4.96 4.78 4.60
136 138 6.50 6.32 6.15 5.97 5.79 5.61 5.43 5.25 5.08 4.90 4.72
138 140 6.62 6.44 6.26 6.08 5.90 5.73 5.55 5.37 5.19 5.01 4.83
140 142 6.73 6.55 6.38 6.20 6.02 5.84 5.66 5.48 5.31 5.13 4.95
142 144 6.85 6.67 6.49 6.31 6.13 5.96 5.78 5.60 5.42 5.24 5.06
144 146 6.96 6.78 6.61 6.43 6.25 6.07 5.89 5.71 5.54 5.36 5.18
146 148 7.08 6.90 6.72 6.54 6.36 6.19 6.01 5.83 5.65 5.47 5.29
148 150 7.19 7.01 6.84 6.66 6.48 6.30 6.12 5.94 5.77 5.59 5.41
150 152 7.31 7.13 6.95 6.77 6.59 6.42 6.24 6.06 5.88 5.70 5.52
152 154 7.42 7.24 7.07 6.89 6.71 6.53 6.35 6.17 6.00 5.82 5.64
154 156 7.54 7.36 7.18 7.00 6.82 6.65 6.47 6.29 6.11 5.93 5.75
156 158 7.65 7.47 7.30 7.12 6.94 6.76 6.58 6.40 6.23 6.05 5.87
158 160 7.77 7.59 7.41 7.23 7.05 6.88 6.70 6.52 6.34 6.16 5.98
160 162 7.88 7.70 7.53 7.35 7.17 6.99 6.81 6.63 6.46 6.28 6.10
162 164 8.00 7.82 7.64 7.46 7.28 7.11 6.93 6.75 6.57 6.39 6.21
164 166 8.11 7.93 7.76 7.58 7.40 7.22 7.04 6.86 6.69 6.51 6.33
166 168 8.23 8.05 7.87 7.69 7.51 7.34 7.16 6.98 6.80 6.62 6.44
168 170 8.34 8.16 7.99 7.81 7.63 7.45 7.27 7.09 6.92 6.74 6.56
170 172 8.46 8.28 8.10 7.92 7.74 7.57 7.39 7.21 7.03 6.85 6.67
172 174 8.57 8.39 8.22 8.04 7.86 7.68 7.50 7.32 7.15 6.97 6.79
174 176 8.69 8.51 8.33 8.15 7.97 7.80 7.62 7.44 7.26 7.08 6.90
176 178 8.80 8.62 8.45 8.27 8.09 7.91 7.73 7.55 7.38 7.20 7.02
178 180 8.92 8.74 8.56 8.38 8.20 8.03 7.85 7.67 7.49 7.31 7.13
180 182 9.03 8.85 8.68 8.50 8.32 8.14 7.96 7.78 7.61 7.43 7.25
182 184 9.15 8.97 8.79 8.61 8.43 8.26 8.08 7.90 7.72 7.54 7.36
184 186 9.26 9.08 8.91 8.73 8.55 8.37 8.19 8.01 7.84 7.66 7.48
186 188 9.38 9.20 9.02 8.84 8.66 8.49 8.31 8.13 7.95 7.77 7.59
188 190 9.49 9.31 9.14 8.96 8.78 8.60 8.42 8.24 8.07 7.89 7.71
190 192 9.61 9.43 9.25 9.07 8.89 8.72 8.54 8.36 8.18 8.00 7.82
192 194 9.72 9.54 9.37 9.19 9.01 8.83 8.65 8.47 8.30 8.12 7.94
194 196 9.84 9.66 9.48 9.30 9.12 8.95 8.77 8.59 8.41 8.23 8.05
196 198 9.95 9.77 9.60 9.42 9.24 9.06 8.88 8.70 8.53 8.35 8.17
198 200 10.07 9.89 9.71 9.53 9.35 9.18 9.00 8.82 8.64 8.46 8.28
200 202 10.18 10.00 9.83 9.65 9.47 9.29 9.11 8.93 8.76 8.58 8.40
202 204 10.30 10.12 9.94 9.76 9.58 9.41 9.23 9.05 8.87 8.69 8.51
204 206 10.41 10.23 10.06 9.88 9.70 9.52 9.34 9.16 8.99 8.81 8.63
206 208 10.53 10.35 10.17 9.99 9.81 9.64 9.46 9.28 9.10 8.92 8.74
208 210 10.64 10.46 10.29 10.11 9.93 9.75 9.57 9.39 9.22 9.04 8.86
210 212 10.76 10.58 10.40 10.22 10.04 9.87 9.69 9.51 9.33 9.15 8.97
212 214 10.87 10.69 10.52 10.34 10.16 9.98 9.80 9.62 9.45 9.27 9.09
214 216 10.99 10.81 10.63 10.45 10.27 10.10 9.92 9.74 9.56 9.38 9.20
216 218 11.10 10.92 10.75 10.57 10.39 10.21 10.03 9.85 9.68 9.50 9.32
218 220 11.22 11.04 10.86 10.68 10.50 10.33 10.15 9.97 9.79 9.61 9.43
220 222 11.33 11.15 10.98 10.80 10.62 10.44 10.26 10.08 9.91 9.73 9.55
222 224 11.45 11.27 11.09 10.91 10.73 10.56 10.38 10.20 10.02 9.84 9.66
224 226 11.56 11.38 11.21 11.03 10.85 10.67 10.49 10.31 10.14 9.96 9.78
226 228 11.68 11.50 11.32 11.14 10.96 10.79 10.61 10.43 10.25 10.07 9.89
228 230 11.79 11.61 11.44 11.26 11.08 10.90 10.72 10.54 10.37 10.19 10.01

If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
compute 5.75% of such excess and add that amount to the last amount in the applicable column.
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Weekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE- and over

$0 $98 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
98 100 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 105 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
105 110 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
110 115 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
115 120 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 125 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
125 130 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
130 135 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
135 140 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 145 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
145 150 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
150 155 2 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
155 160 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 165 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
165 170 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
170 175 3 2 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
175 180 4 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
180 185 4 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
185 190 4 3 2 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
190 195 4 3 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
195 200 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
200 210 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 1 0 0 0
210 220 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0
220 230 6 5 4 3 3 2 1 1 1 0 0
230 240 7 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 
240 250 7 6 5 4 4 3 2 1 1 1 0 
250 260 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 0 
260 270 8 7 6 5 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 
270 280 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1 
280 290 9 8 7 6 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 
290 300 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 
300 310 10 9 8 7 7 6 5 4 3 2 2 
310 320 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 3 2 
320 330 11 10 9 8 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 
330 340 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 4 3 
340 350 12 11 10 9 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 
350 360 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 5 4 
360 370 13 12 11 10 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 
370 380 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 6 5 
380 390 14 13 12 11 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 
390 400 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 7 6 
400 410 15 14 13 12 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 
410 420 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 8 7 
420 430 16 15 14 13 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 
430 440 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 9 8 
440 450 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 
450 460 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 10 9 
460 470 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 
470 480 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 11 10 
480 490 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 
490 500 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 12 11 
500 510 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 
510 520 22 21 20 19 18 16 15 14 13 13 12 
520 530 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 
530 540 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 
540 550 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 
550 560 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 
560 570 25 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 
570 580 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 
580 590 26 25 24 23 22 21 19 18 17 16 15 
590 600 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 
600 610 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 
610 620 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 
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Weekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

THE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE- and over

620 630 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 
630 640 29 28 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 
640 650 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 
650 660 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 22 21 20 19 
660 670 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 20 
670 680 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 
680 690 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 21 
690 700 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 
700 710 33 32 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 22 
710 720 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 23 
720 730 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 25 24 23 
730 740 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 24 
740 750 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 
750 760 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 25 
760 770 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 
770 780 37 36 35 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 26 
780 790 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 27 
790 800 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 28 27 
800 810 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 28 
810 820 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 
820 830 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 29 
830 840 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 
840 850 41 40 39 38 36 35 34 33 32 31 30 
850 860 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 31 
860 870 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 31 
870 880 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 32 
880 890 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 
890 900 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 33 
900 910 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 34 
910 920 45 44 43 42 41 39 38 37 36 35 34 
920 930 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 35 
930 940 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 35 
940 950 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 36 
950 960 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 
960 970 48 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 37 
970 980 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 38 
980 990 49 48 47 46 45 44 42 41 40 39 38 
990 1000 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 39 

1000 1010 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 
1010 1020 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 40 
1020 1030 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 
1030 1040 52 51 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 41 
1040 1050 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 42 
1050 1060 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 45 44 43 42 
1060 1070 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 43 
1070 1080 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 
1080 1090 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 44 
1090 1100 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 
1100 1110 56 55 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 45 
1110 1120 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 46 
1120 1130 57 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 48 47 46 
1130 1140 57 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 47 
1140 1150 58 57 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 
1150 1160 58 57 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 48 
1160 1170 59 58 57 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 
1170 1180 60 59 58 56 55 54 53 52 51 50 49 

If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,

compute 5.75% of such excess and add that amount to the last amount in the applicable column.



16

Semi-Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

$0 $150 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
150 160 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 170 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
170 180 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 190 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
190 200 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 210 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
210 220 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 230 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
230 240 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 250 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
250 260 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 270 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
270 280 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 290 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
290 300 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 310 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
310 320 5 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
320 330 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
330 340 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
340 350 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
350 360 6 5 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
360 370 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
370 380 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
380 390 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
390 400 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
400 410 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
410 420 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
420 430 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
430 440 10 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0
440 450 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
450 460 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
460 470 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
470 480 12 10 8 7 5 4 2 2 1 0 0
480 490 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0
490 500 13 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0
500 510 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0
510 520 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 2 2 1 0 
520 530 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 
530 540 15 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 
540 550 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1 
550 560 16 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 
560 570 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 
570 580 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 
580 590 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 
590 600 18 16 14 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 
600 615 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 
615 630 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 
630 645 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 
645 660 21 19 17 16 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 
660 675 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 
675 690 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 
690 705 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 
705 720 24 22 20 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 
720 735 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 
735 750 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 
750 765 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 
765 780 27 25 23 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 
780 795 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 15 13 11 9 
795 810 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 
810 825 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 
825 840 30 28 26 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 
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Semi-Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

$0 $150 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
150 160 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 170 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
170 180 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 190 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
190 200 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 210 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
210 220 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 230 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
230 240 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 250 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
250 260 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 270 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
270 280 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 290 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
290 300 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 310 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
310 320 5 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
320 330 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
330 340 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
340 350 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
350 360 6 5 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
360 370 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
370 380 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
380 390 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
390 400 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
400 410 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
410 420 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
420 430 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
430 440 10 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0
440 450 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
450 460 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
460 470 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
470 480 12 10 8 7 5 4 2 2 1 0 0
480 490 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0
490 500 13 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0
500 510 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0
510 520 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 2 2 1 0 
520 530 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 
530 540 15 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 
540 550 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1 
550 560 16 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 
560 570 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 
570 580 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 
580 590 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 
590 600 18 16 14 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 
600 615 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 
615 630 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 
630 645 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 
645 660 21 19 17 16 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 
660 675 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 
675 690 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 
690 705 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 5 
705 720 24 22 20 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 
720 735 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 
735 750 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 
750 765 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 
765 780 27 25 23 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 
780 795 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 15 13 11 9 
795 810 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 
810 825 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 
825 840 30 28 26 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 
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Semi-Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

840 855 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 18 16 14 12 
855 870 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 
870 885 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 
885 900 34 32 29 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 14 
900 915 35 32 30 28 26 24 22 21 19 17 15 
915 930 36 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 
930 945 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 16 
945 960 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 
960 975 38 36 34 31 29 27 25 24 22 20 18 
975 990 39 37 35 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 18 
990 1005 40 38 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 

1005 1020 41 39 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 
1020 1035 42 39 37 35 33 30 28 27 25 23 21 
1035 1050 42 40 38 36 34 31 29 27 25 23 21 
1050 1065 43 41 39 37 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 
1065 1080 44 42 40 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 
1080 1095 45 43 41 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 
1095 1110 46 44 41 39 37 35 33 30 28 26 24 
1110 1125 47 45 42 40 38 36 33 31 29 27 25 
1125 1140 48 45 43 41 39 36 34 32 30 28 26 
1140 1155 48 46 44 42 40 37 35 33 31 29 27 
1155 1170 49 47 45 43 40 38 36 34 32 29 27 
1170 1185 50 48 46 44 41 39 37 35 32 30 28 
1185 1200 51 49 47 44 42 40 38 35 33 31 29 
1200 1215 52 50 47 45 43 41 39 36 34 32 30 
1215 1230 53 51 48 46 44 42 39 37 35 33 31 
1230 1245 54 51 49 47 45 43 40 38 36 34 31 
1245 1260 55 52 50 48 46 43 41 39 37 34 32 
1260 1275 55 53 51 49 46 44 42 40 38 35 33 
1275 1290 56 54 52 50 47 45 43 41 38 36 34 
1290 1305 57 55 53 50 48 46 44 42 39 37 35 
1305 1320 58 56 54 51 49 47 45 42 40 38 36 
1320 1335 59 57 54 52 50 48 45 43 41 39 37 
1335 1350 60 57 55 53 51 49 46 44 42 40 37 
1350 1365 61 58 56 54 52 49 47 45 43 41 38 
1365 1380 61 59 57 55 53 50 48 46 44 41 39 
1380 1395 62 60 58 56 53 51 49 47 44 42 40 
1395 1410 63 61 59 56 54 52 50 48 45 43 41 
1410 1425 64 62 60 57 55 53 51 48 46 44 42 
1425 1440 65 63 60 58 56 54 52 49 47 45 43 
1440 1455 66 64 61 59 57 55 52 50 48 46 43 
1455 1470 67 64 62 60 58 55 53 51 49 47 44 
1470 1485 67 65 63 61 59 56 54 52 50 47 45 
1485 1500 68 66 64 62 59 57 55 53 51 48 46 
1500 1515 69 67 65 63 60 58 56 54 51 49 47 
1515 1530 70 68 66 63 61 59 57 54 52 50 48 
1530 1545 71 69 66 64 62 60 58 55 53 51 49 
1545 1560 72 70 67 65 63 61 58 56 54 52 50 
1560 1575 73 70 68 66 64 62 59 57 55 53 50 
1575 1590 74 71 69 67 65 62 60 58 56 53 51 
1590 1605 74 72 70 68 65 63 61 59 57 54 52 
1605 1620 75 73 71 69 66 64 62 60 57 55 53 
1620 1635 76 74 72 69 67 65 63 60 58 56 54 
1635 1650 77 75 73 70 68 66 64 61 59 57 55 
1650 1665 78 76 73 71 69 67 64 62 60 58 56 
1665 1680 79 76 74 72 70 68 65 63 61 59 56 
1680 1695 80 77 75 73 71 68 66 64 62 59 57 
1695 1710 80 78 76 74 71 69 67 65 63 60 58 

If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
compute 5.75% of such excess and add that amount to the last amount in the applicable column.
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Bi-weekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

$0 $140 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 150 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
150 160 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 170 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
170 180 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 190 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
190 200 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 210 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
210 220 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 230 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
230 240 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 250 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
250 260 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 270 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
270 280 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 290 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
290 300 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 310 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
310 320 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
320 330 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
330 340 6 5 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
340 350 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
350 360 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
360 370 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
370 380 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
380 390 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
390 400 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
400 410 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0
410 420 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
420 430 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
430 440 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
440 450 12 10 8 6 5 4 2 2 1 0 0
450 460 12 10 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 0
460 470 13 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1 0
470 480 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 
480 490 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 0 
490 500 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 
500 510 15 13 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 1 1 
510 520 15 13 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 2 1 
520 530 16 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 3 2 1 
530 540 16 14 13 11 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 
540 550 17 15 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 2 2 
550 560 17 15 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 
560 570 18 16 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 
570 580 18 16 15 13 11 9 8 6 4 3 2 
580 590 19 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 5 3 2 
590 600 19 17 16 14 12 10 9 7 5 4 3 
600 610 20 18 16 14 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 
610 620 20 18 17 15 13 11 10 8 6 4 3 
620 630 21 19 17 15 14 12 10 8 6 5 4 
630 640 21 19 18 16 14 12 11 9 7 5 4 
640 650 22 20 18 16 15 13 11 9 7 6 4 
650 660 22 20 19 17 15 13 12 10 8 6 4 
660 670 23 21 19 17 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 
670 680 23 21 20 18 16 14 13 11 9 7 5 
680 690 24 22 20 18 17 15 13 11 9 8 6 
690 700 24 22 21 19 17 15 14 12 10 8 6 
700 710 25 23 21 19 18 16 14 12 10 9 7 
710 720 25 23 22 20 18 16 15 13 11 9 7 
720 730 26 24 22 20 19 17 15 13 11 10 8 
730 740 26 24 23 21 19 17 16 14 12 10 8 
740 750 27 25 23 21 20 18 16 14 12 11 9 
750 760 27 25 24 22 20 18 17 15 13 11 9 
760 770 28 26 24 22 21 19 17 15 13 12 10 
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Bi-weekly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

770 780 28 26 25 23 21 19 18 16 14 12 10 
780 790 29 27 25 23 22 20 18 16 14 13 11 
790 800 29 27 26 24 22 20 19 17 15 13 11 
800 810 30 28 26 24 23 21 19 17 15 14 12 
810 820 31 29 27 25 23 21 20 18 16 14 12 
820 830 31 29 27 25 24 22 20 18 16 15 13 
830 840 32 30 28 26 24 22 21 19 17 15 13 
840 850 32 30 28 26 25 23 21 19 17 16 14 
850 860 33 31 29 27 25 23 22 20 18 16 14 
860 870 33 31 29 27 26 24 22 20 18 17 15 
870 880 34 32 30 28 26 24 23 21 19 17 15 
880 890 35 33 31 28 27 25 23 21 19 18 16 
890 900 35 33 31 29 27 25 24 22 20 18 16 
900 910 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 19 17 
910 920 36 34 32 30 28 26 25 23 21 19 17 
920 930 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 20 18 
930 940 38 35 33 31 29 27 26 24 22 20 18 
940 950 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 21 19 
950 960 39 37 35 32 30 28 27 25 23 21 19 
960 970 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 22 20 
970 980 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 
980 990 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 23 21 
990 1000 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 

1000 1010 42 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 24 22 
1010 1020 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 
1020 1030 43 41 39 37 34 32 30 28 26 25 23 
1030 1040 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 
1040 1050 44 42 40 38 36 34 31 29 27 26 24 
1050 1060 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 
1060 1070 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 
1070 1080 46 44 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 
1080 1090 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 
1090 1100 47 45 43 41 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 
1100 1110 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 27 
1110 1120 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 33 31 29 27 
1120 1130 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 28 
1130 1140 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 28 
1140 1150 50 48 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 29 
1150 1160 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 30 
1160 1170 51 49 47 45 43 40 38 36 34 32 30 
1170 1180 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 31 
1180 1190 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 37 35 33 31 
1190 1200 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 32 
1200 1210 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 32 
1210 1220 54 52 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 33 
1220 1230 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 34 
1230 1240 55 53 51 49 47 44 42 40 38 36 34 
1240 1250 55 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 35 
1250 1260 56 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 39 37 35 
1260 1270 56 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 36 
1270 1280 57 55 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 36 
1280 1290 58 56 54 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 37 
1290 1300 58 56 54 52 50 48 46 44 42 40 38 
1300 1310 59 57 55 53 51 49 46 44 42 40 38 
1310 1320 59 57 55 53 51 49 47 45 43 41 39 
1320 1330 60 58 56 54 52 50 48 46 43 41 39 

If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
compute 5.75% of such excess and add that amount to the last amount in the applicable column.
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Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

$0 $260 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 320 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
320 340 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
340 360 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
360 380 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
380 400 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 420 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
420 440 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
440 460 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
460 450 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
450 500 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 520 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
520 540 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
540 560 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
560 580 7 5 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
580 600 8 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
600 620 9 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
620 640 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0
640 660 10 7 5 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0
660 680 11 8 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
680 700 12 9 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0
700 725 13 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0
725 750 14 10 8 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0
750 775 15 12 9 6 4 3 1 0 0 0 0
775 800 17 13 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0 0
800 825 18 14 10 8 5 4 2 1 0 0 0
825 850 19 15 11 9 6 4 3 1 0 0 0
850 875 20 17 13 9 7 5 3 2 0 0 0
875 900 22 18 14 10 8 5 4 2 1 0 0
900 925 23 19 15 11 8 6 4 3 1 0 0
925 950 24 20 16 13 9 7 5 3 2 0 0
950 975 25 22 18 14 10 8 5 4 2 1 0
975 1000 27 23 19 15 11 8 6 4 3 1 0

1000 1025 28 24 20 16 12 9 7 5 3 2 0
1025 1050 29 25 21 18 14 10 8 5 4 2 1
1050 1075 30 27 23 19 15 11 8 6 4 3 1
1075 1100 32 28 24 20 16 12 9 7 5 3 2
1100 1125 33 29 25 21 17 14 10 7 5 4 2
1125 1150 34 30 26 23 19 15 11 8 6 4 3
1150 1175 35 32 28 24 20 16 12 9 7 5 3
1175 1200 37 33 29 25 21 17 13 10 7 5 4
1200 1225 38 34 30 26 22 19 15 11 8 6 4
1225 1250 39 35 31 28 24 20 16 12 9 7 5
1250 1275 40 37 33 29 25 21 17 13 10 7 5
1275 1300 42 38 34 30 26 22 18 15 11 8 6
1300 1325 43 39 35 31 27 24 20 16 12 9 7
1325 1350 44 40 36 33 29 25 21 17 13 10 7
1350 1375 45 42 38 34 30 26 22 18 14 11 8
1375 1400 47 43 39 35 31 27 23 20 16 12 9
1400 1425 48 44 40 36 32 29 25 21 17 13 10
1425 1450 49 45 41 38 34 30 26 22 18 14 10
1450 1475 50 47 43 39 35 31 27 23 19 16 12
1475 1500 52 48 44 40 36 32 28 25 21 17 13
1500 1525 53 49 45 41 37 34 30 26 22 18 14
1525 1550 54 50 46 43 39 35 31 27 23 19 15
1550 1575 55 52 48 44 40 36 32 28 24 21 17
1575 1600 57 53 49 45 41 37 33 30 26 22 18
1600 1625 58 54 50 46 42 39 35 31 27 23 19
1625 1650 59 55 51 48 44 40 36 32 28 24 20
1650 1675 60 57 53 49 45 41 37 33 29 26 22
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Monthly Payroll Period
Virginia Income Tax Withholding Table

For Wages Paid After December 31, 2007

IF WAGES ARE-   AND THE TOTAL NUMBER OF PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED ON FORM VA-4 OR VA-4P IS-

At Least
But Less 

Than

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
and overTHE AMOUNT OF STATE INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE-

1675 1700 62 58 54 50 46 42 38 35 31 27 23
1700 1725 63 59 55 51 47` 44 40 36 32 28 24
1725 1750 65 60 56 53 49 45 41 37 33 29 25
1750 1775 66 62 58 54 50 46 42 38 34 31 27
1775 1800 68 63 59 55 51 47 43 40 36 32 28
1800 1825 69 65 60 56 52 49 45 41 37 33 29
1825 1850 71 66 62 58 54 50 46 42 38 34 30
1850 1875 72 68 63 59 55 51 47 43 39 36 32
1875 1900 73 69 65 60 56 52 48 45 41 37 33
1900 1925 75 70 66 61 57 54 50 46 42 38 34
1925 1950 76 72 67 63 59 55 51 47 43 39 35
1950 1975 78 73 69 64 60 56 52 48 44 41 37
1975 2000 79 75 70 66 61 57 53 50 46 42 38
2000 2025 81 76 72 67 63 59 55 51 47 43 39
2025 2075 83 79 75 70 66 61 57 53 49 46 42
2075 2100 85 80 76 72 67 63 58 55 51 47 43
2100 2125 86 82 77 73 69 64 60 56 52 48 44
2125 2150 88 83 79 74 70 66 61 57 53 49 45
2150 2175 89 85 80 76 71 67 62 58 54 51 47
2175 2200 91 86 82 77 73 68 64 60 56 52 48
2200 2225 92 88 83 79 74 70 65 61 57 53 49
2225 2250 94 89 85 80 76 71 67 62 58 54 50
2250 2275 95 91 86 82 77 73 68 64 59 56 52
2275 2300 96 92 88 83 79 74 70 65 61 57 53
2300 2325 98 93 89 84 80 76 71 67 62 58 54
2325 2350 99 95 90 86 81 77 73 68 64 59 55
2350 2375 101 96 92 87 83 78 74 70 65 61 57
2375 2400 102 98 93 89 84 80 75 71 67 62 58
2400 2425 104 99 95 90 86 81 77 72 68 63 59
2425 2450 105 101 96 92 87 83 78 74 69 65 60
2450 2475 106 102 98 93 89 84 80 75 71 66 62
2475 2500 108 103 99 95 90 86 81 77 72 68 63
2500 2525 109 105 100 96 92 87 83 78 74 69 65
2525 2550 111 106 102 97 93 89 84 80 75 71 66
2550 2575 112 108 103 99 94 90 85 81 77 72 68
2575 2600 114 109 105 100 96 91 87 82 78 74 69
2600 2625 115 111 106 102 97 93 88 84 79 75 71
2625 2650 117 112 108 103 99 94 90 85 81 76 72
2650 2675 118 114 109 105 100 96 91 87 82 78 73
2675 2700 119 115 111 106 102 97 93 88 84 79 75
2700 2725 121 116 112 107 103 99 94 90 85 81 76
2725 2750 122 118 113 109 104 100 96 91 87 82 78
2750 2775 124 119 115 110 106 101 97 93 88 84 79
2775 2800 125 121 116 112 107 103 98 94 90 85 81
2800 2825 127 122 118 113 109 104 100 95 91 86 82
2825 2850 128 124 119 115 110 106 101 97 92 88 83
2850 2875 129 125 121 116 112 107 103 98 94 89 85
2875 2900 131 126 122 118 113 109 104 100 95 91 86
2900 2925 132 128 123 119 115 110 106 101 97 92 88
2925 2950 134 129 125 120 116 112 107 103 98 94 89
2950 2975 135 131 126 122 117 113 108 104 100 95 91
2975 3000 137 132 128 123 119 114 110 105 101 97 92
3000 3025 138 134 129 125 120 116 111 107 102 98 94
3025 3050 140 135 131 126 122 117 113 108 104 99 95
3050 3075 141 137 132 128 123 119 114 110 105 101 96
3075 3100 142 138 134 129 125 120 116 111 107 102 98
3100 3125 144 139 135 130 126 122 117 113 108 104 99
3125 3150 145 141 136 132 127 123 119 114 110 105 101

If wages are in excess of the maximum amount shown above,
compute 5.75% of such excess and add that amount to the last amount in the applicable column.


