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Work Group Participants



Licensing Stamping Agents, OTP Distributors, and 
Certain Retailers of Liquid Nicotine

• Process applications and conduct background checks 
• Issue licenses 
• Conduct compliance checks via field and desk audit to verify tax 

compliance 

Tax Exemption Certificates 
• Process applications, conduct background checks and verify retail 

store validity 
• Issue certificates
• Confirm full payment of tax liabilities 

Tax Return Processing
• Process returns 
• Conduct desk and field audits to verify information on return 

2024 HB 790/SB 582 would have required that Virginia Tax conduct underage checks with ABC and law enforcement. 
However, during its 2025 Session, the General Assembly exempted Virginia Tax from this requirement and directed 
further study on the issue.

Tobacco Licensing and Enforcement Functions at Virginia Tax



2025 Legislative Mandate

HB 1946/SB 1060 require Virginia Tax convene a work group to develop an enforcement 
program to address the sale of retail tobacco products intended for smoking to individuals 
younger than 21 years old.
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The work group shall include representatives from:
ABC, Virginia Tax, the Office of the Attorney General, the Virginia State Police, and DBHDS

The study’s considerations will include:

▸ The frequency of licensee inspections in Virginia and other states;

▸ Compliance rates in the Commonwealth and other states; 

▸ Costs of an enforcement program; and

▸ Funding sources to support the enforcement program.



Legislative History of Bills 
Regulating Retail Tobacco



Legislative History of Retail Tobacco Regulatory Bills in Virginia 

2017*- 2019

HB 2301: Proposed narrow 
retail cigar-only license 
administered and enforced 
by ABC.

2020

HB 1283: Proposed broad 
Retail Tobacco License 
administered by Virginia Tax 
and enforced by ABC.

2021

HB 2164: Proposed broad 
Retail Tobacco License 
administered and enforced 
by ABC.

HAC Chair Request: 
Virginia Tax studied 
feasibility and costs of retail 
tobacco license with input 
from ABC and DBHDS.

2022

HB 685/SB 1586: Proposed 
broad Retail Tobacco 
License administered and 
enforced by ABC.

2023

HB 2296: ABC studied a 
licensing scheme for liquid 
nicotine product retailers 
with input from DBHDS, 
health advocates and 
industry representatives. 

2024

HB 790/SB 582: Enacted a 
licensing framework for 
liquid nicotine with Virginia 
Tax enforcing restrictions on 
underage sales.

2025

HB 1946/SB 1060: Enacted 
an exemption for Virginia 
Tax from the requirement 
to enforce restrictions on 
underage sales.

Item 489.10 H of 2025 
Budget: Allocated $150,000 
to ABC to conduct 
unannounced 
investigations. 

*Nearly identical bills were introduced in 2017 (HB 2220), 2018 (HB 1541) and 2019 (HB 2301) that would have created a narrow cigar-only retail license. 



2025 Legislative Negotiations Surrounding HB 1946 and SB 1060 

During the 2025 Legislative Session, ABC and Virginia Tax worked closely with the Patrons to draft a 
substitute bill that created a comprehensive Tobacco Retail Permit issued and enforced by ABC in 
lieu of the more narrow Liquid Nicotine License issued by Virginia Tax. 

This version was proposed by the Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations as SB 1060 
Senate Substitute 2.  

The enacted version of this legislation did not a include Tobacco Retail Permit structure; however, 
Virginia Tax was exempted from the underage enforcement requirements. In addition, ABC was 
allocated $150k to conduct a pilot of underage enforcement under the Appropriation Act.  



Retail Tobacco Licenses Administered and Enforced by ABC

Broad Retail Tobacco Legislation: 2025 SB 1060 Senate Substitute 2 (Not Adopted)

ABC enforces 
underage sales in 
collaboration with 
local law 
enforcement.

ABC application fee 
of $400 and allows 
ABC to use the Retail 
Tobacco Fund to 
cover expenses of 
administration and 
enforcement.

ABC’s preliminary 
estimate included  
initial costs to be 
around $3.6M and 
ongoing costs of 
$2.7M every year 
thereafter.



Frequency of Licensee Inspections 
and Compliance Rates in Virginia 
and Other States



Frequency of Underage Enforcement and Compliance Rates in Virginia

*Data provided by the Office of Behavior Health Wellness at the DBHDS.
 ** States must maintain an RVR below 10% in order to receive federal funding under SYNAR/Tobacco21

No Licensing 
program = 

unknown exact # 
of retailers Retail 

Violation Rate 
(RVR) 

FY 2025: 
9.3%**

1,000 SYNAR visits 
annually

Retailers: 
7,700 – 7,800

FDA Inspections 
07/01/2024 – 

06/24/2025: 2,765 
youth-involved 

compliance check 
RVR: 15.6%



Frequency of Licensee Inspections and Compliance Rates in Other States*

* Data provided by the Office of Behavior Health Wellness at the DBHDS. 

State Frequency Compliance
RVR FY 2025

Arizona No clear separation of visits between state and FDA 14.0%

Kentucky Retailers: 4,915
400-500 SYNAR visits annually 8.3%

Illinois Each outlet inspected annually 11.4%

Maine Annually inspected 6.0%

Nevada Inspections every 3 years according to state Code 12.8%

New York Outlets: 20,000
Annually inspected. 17.3%



Frequency of Licensee Inspections and Compliance Rates in Other States*

* Data provided by the Office of Behavior Health Wellness at the DBHDS. 

State Frequency Compliance
RVR FY 2025

Oklahoma Licensees: 4,500
Inspections every 3 years 13.8%

Oregon Each licensed retailer inspected twice annually 14.0%

Pennsylvania Each establishment inspected annually 13.5%

Texas
Retailers: over 30,000
1,500 Synar visits annually +
6,000 - 7,000 state enforcement inspections

16.6%

Utah Yearly SYNAR visits and additional non SYNAR checks
2 Inspections annually according to state Code Last SYNAR unweighted RVR: 5.4%



Compliance Programs to Prevent 
Underage Sales of Tobacco Products



Compliance Program to Prevent Underage Sales of Tobacco Products

Retail Licensing 
System

Dedicated 
Funding 

Structure 

Enforcement 
Program, 
Including 
Penalties

A compliance program to prevent underage sales of tobacco products will typically 
have three components: 



Retail Licensing System

Regulatory Framework 
for Tobacco Retailers

Licensing may help with 
the identification and 
tracking of all tobacco 

retailers, which is 
essential for ensuring 

compliance with 
applicable laws and 

regulations.

Increases Accountability
Licensing may help to 

keep retailers 
accountable for violations 

of underage sales.

Facilitates Enforcement
Licensing may help with 
enforcement, including 

the ability to suspend or 
revoke licenses.

Compliance Program to Prevent Underage Sales of Tobacco Products



Dedicated Funding Structure

Tobacco Retail Licensing 
Fees

Used to cover the cost of 
enforcement.

State Budget
Dedicated funding can be 

specifically allocated to 
ensure adequate 

resources for enforcement 
activities.

Utilize Funds from 
Agreements

The Master Settlement 
Agreement.

 The JUUL settlement.
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Enforcement Program 

Designated Agency and 
Protocols

A specific agency with 
clear responsibility for 
enforcement may be 

designated.
Clear protocols for 

enforcement activities.

Penalties
Penalties for violations are 

commonly imposed on 
the retailer or licensee 

with graduated fines and 
the ability to prohibit 

sales.

Merchant Education
Effective retailer 

education programs could 
be implemented.
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Enforcement in Other States: Alcohol Control vs. Other States

* Data provided from National Alcohol Beverage Control Association.

▸ 17 states have state monopolies over 
the wholesaling or retailing of some 
or all categories of alcohol (i.e. an 
ABC Authority). Blue, at right.

▸ ABC is typically responsible for 
enforcing the restrictions on 
sales of tobacco products to 
underaged individuals in these 
states. 

▸ The remaining states have private 
businesses purchasing and selling 
alcohol, with state laws regulating it. 



Open Forum
Questions and Comments



Open Forum: Potential Topics for Discussion

Enforcement Program
▸ How would the program be funded initially? 

▸ What ongoing funding mechanism makes the most sense?

▸ What enforcement time frame makes the most sense? 

▸ What should the penalty structure be?



Open Forum: Potential Topics for Discussion

If legislation is advanced in 2026 that incorporates the language 
of 2025 HB 1946/SB 1060 Substitute 2:
▸ What changes, if any, would you make to the substitute? 

▸ What is local law enforcement and state police’s role?

▸ What is DBHDS's role? 

▸ How does the OAG see this interfacing with their MSA/JUUL 
enforcement efforts?



Next Steps

▸ This presentation and all provided handouts will be made available on the Virginia Tax webpage for Active 
Studies and Surveys: https://www.tax.virginia.gov/studies-and-surveys (coming soon).

▸ Please provide written comments, including any suggested approaches along with responses to the 
agency-specific insights, to Katherine Spivey by July 29: 

▸ ABC: Are there updates to the administrative costs provided for SB 1060-S2? Are there any additional funding sources or ideas 
on how to structure a comprehensive Retail Tobacco program that have not been discussed? 

▸ DBHDS: What are your agency’s suggestions and concerns regarding a broader license or permit structure, timing of 
enforcement, and transition options?

▸ OAG: What are your agency’s concerns regarding the interaction between a retail tobacco permit and your current 
enforcement responsibilities?

▸ Virginia State Police: How do you envision your role in this enforcement? How would ABC enforcement interact with local law 
enforcement? 

▸ We will reconvene the week of August 18-22 to review drafts of legislative options incorporating the 
written responses and agency-specific insights and will be in touch this week to schedule that date. 

▸ We will circulate a draft report to work group participants in advance of its submission by November 1.

https://www.tax.virginia.gov/studies-and-surveys


Thank You!

James Savage
Tax Legislation Director

james.savage@tax.virginia.gov

Anna Mucha 
Sales and Local Tax Team Lead 
anna.mucha@tax.virginia.gov

Katherine Spivey
Tax Law Analyst

katherine.spivey@tax.virginia.gov
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