
Who Should File this Form. You are required to pay consumer’s use tax 
on purchases, leases, and rentals of tangible personal property acquired in 
or outside Virginia for storage, use or consumption in Virginia if retail sales 
and use tax was not collected on the transaction. Examples include untaxed 
purchases made (1) over the Internet, (2) through out-of-state mail order 
catalogs, or (3) while traveling out-of-state. 
If the amount of purchases from out-of-state mail order catalogs totaled  
$100 or less for the entire year, you do not have to pay consumer’s use 
tax on these purchases. If the purchases were from out-of-state mail order 
catalogs and exceed $100, or the purchases were of any amount from 
sources other than mail order catalogs, then you must pay consumer’s use 
tax on the total amount of untaxed purchases made during the calendar 
year from all sources. The tax is based on the “cost price” of the goods and 
does not include separately stated shipping or delivery charges but it does 
include any “shipping and handling” charges if listed as a combined item 
on the sales invoice.
If you meet the criteria for consumer’s use tax liability, you must file an annual 
consumer’s use tax return, Form CU-7. This form is for use by individuals 
only. Businesses, including partnerships and sole proprietorships, must 
report such purchases on Form ST-7 or Form ST-9, whichever is appropriate.
Filing Alternative: You can report and pay this tax on Form 760, Form 
760PY or Form 763.
Nonprescription drugs and proprietary medicines purchased for the cure, 
mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in human beings are exempt 
from consumer use tax.

Tax Rates. Effective July 1, 2018, the general retail sales and use tax rates 
are 7% in the Historic Triangle Region, 6% in the Northern Virginia and 
Hampton Roads Regions and 5.3% elsewhere throughout Virginia. The 
rate is 2.5% for sales of food for home consumption. See the worksheet 
on Page 2 for details.
Make your check or money order payable to the Virginia Department of 
Taxation. 
When And Where To File. If filing based on the calendar year, file your 
return as soon as possible after January 1, but not later than May 1 of the 
subsequent calendar year. If you are filing on a basis other than a calendar 
year, you must file your return by the 15th day of the 4th month after the 
close of your taxable year. 
Penalty and interest will apply if the return or payment is late. Pay the 
balance due as computed on Form CU-7 by the due date. Payment must 
be enclosed to the form when filed. 
Mail Form CU-7 to the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 26627, 
Richmond, VA 23261-6627. 
Do NOT file Form CU-7 in the same envelope with your individual income 
tax return.  
Where To Get Help. If you have any questions, call (804) 367-8031 or write 
to Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, Virginia 
23218-1115.
Where To Get Forms. Forms can be downloaded from the website at www.
tax.virginia.gov or ordered by phone from the Department of Taxation,  
(804) 367-8031.

Virginia Consumer’s Use Tax Return for Individuals, Form CU-7
For Periods Beginning On and After July 1, 2018
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Detach at dotted line below. Do not send entire page.

Your SSN Your Last Name First Name MI

Spouse's SSN Spouse's Last Name First Name MI

Address (Number and Street)

City State ZIP Code

I declare that, to the best of my knowledge, this return (including any accompanying schedules and 
statements) is a true and complete return.

Signature Date Telephone Number

1a. Non-Food Goods Total Costs

1b. Food Goods Total Costs

2a. Non-Food Goods Tax

2b. Food Goods Tax

3. Total Tax Add lines 2a & 2b

4. Penalty (See Instructions)

5. Interest (See Instructions)

6. Total Due (Add lines 3, 4 & 5)

Computing the Consumer’s Use Tax 
Use the work sheet on the back of this page to list purchases, compute the taxes, and keep a computational record. On the Form CU-7, below:

Line 1a. From worksheet Line D, enter the total COST PRICE for non-food 
purchases on which you were not charged sales tax. 

Line 1b. From worksheet Line I, enter the total COST PRICE for food 
purchased for home consumption on which you were not charged 
sales tax. 

Line 2a. From worksheet Line E, enter the TAX amount for non-food 
purchases.

Line 2b. From worksheet Line J, enter the TAX amount for food purchases.
Line 3. Total Tax: Add Lines 2a and 2b.
Line 4. Penalty: No penalty is due if this return is filed with payment by 

the due date. If a return is not filed or the tax is not paid by the due 
date, the penalty is 6% of the amount on line 3 for each month or 
fraction of a month that the payment  is late. The minimum penalty 
is $10. The maximum penalty is 30% of the amount on line 3.

Line 5. Interest: No interest is due if payment is made by the due date. 
If payment is made after the due date, interest is computed on 
the tax due on line 3 at the rate established in Section 6621 of 
the Internal Revenue Code, plus 2%. The correct interest rate 
can be accessed on the website at www.tax.virginia.gov.  For 
additional assistance in obtaining the correct interest rate factor on 
which to calculate the interest, contact the Virginia Department 
of Taxation at (804) 367-8031.

Line 6. Total Due: Add lines 3, 4 and 5 and enter the total. Enclose your 
check or money order for this amount with Form CU-7 when filing. 
See “When And Where To File” for additional information.

Make check or money order payable to: Virginia Department of Taxation
Payments returned by the bank will be subject to a returned payment fee 
in addition to any other penalties that may be incurred.

FORM CU-7 Virginia Consumer’s Use Tax Return for Individuals
(Doc ID 107) Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 26627, Richmond, VA 23261-6627

(804) 367-8031

Taxable Year: Beginning Date  ________________Ending Date  ___________________ 
Locality where you legally resided during 
the taxable year.  City or  County of:  _______________________________________

0000000000 1070000 000000



Worksheet for Computing Virginia Consumer’s Use Tax for Individuals (CU-7)
• Keep this with your other important tax records. Use a separate sheet, if needed.
• If your receipt shows a “handling” charge or “shipping and handling” charge but does not separately state the amount for shipping, include this 

charge in the cost price. If your receipt shows a separate shipping or delivery charge, do not include this charge in the cost price.
• The tax is computed on what you paid for the item (“cost price”). Refer to Column (c) in the table below for rates effective July 1, 2018. 

Consumer’s Use tax rates
• The general tax rate for Virginia is 5.3% (4.3% state tax and 1 % local tax).
• Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads regions - There is an additional 0.7% state tax imposed in the localities that make up Northern Virginia and 

Hampton Roads, making the rate in these areas 6% (5% state tax and 1% local tax).
• Historic Triangle region - There is an additional 1.0% state tax imposed in the localities that make up Historic Triangle.  These localities are within the 

Hampton Roads Region, making the rate in these areas 7% (6% state tax and 1% local tax).
• Purchases of eligible food items are subject to a reduced rate of 2.5% (1.5% state tax and 1% local tax).

Northern Virginia Region Hampton Roads Region Historic Triangle Region
Alexandria City
Arlington County
Fairfax City 
Fairfax County 
Falls Church City

Loudoun County
Manassas City
Manassas Park City
Prince William County

Chesapeake City
Franklin City 
Hampton City
Isle of Wight County
James City County

Newport News City
Norfolk City
Poquoson City
Portsmouth City
Southampton County

Suffolk City
Virginia Beach City
Williamsburg City
York County

James City County
Williamsburg City
York County

Tax Year:  From ,  to , 

Non-Food Items Date of Purchase Cost Price
A.

B.

C.

D. Total Costs of Non-Food Items Purchased Enter on Line 1a, Form CU-7.

E. Tax on Non-Food Items Purchased. Multiply Line 
D by the applicable rate shown in Column (c) of 
the table above. Enter on Line 2a, Form CU-7.

Food Items Purchased Date of Purchase Cost Price
F.

G.

H.

I. Total Costs of Food Items Purchased Enter on Line 1b, Form CU-7.

J. Tax on Food Items Purchased  (Line I  times .025) Enter on Line 2b, Form CU-7.
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