## **Cotton Assessment Return Instructions**

General Liability: The handler is responsible for collecting the assessment from the owner of any cotton that the handler gins in the Commonwealth. For purposes of this tax, "handler" means a commercial enterprise that gins cotton.

Filing Procedure: The Cotton Assessment return must be filed and the tax paid by the handler to the Virginia Department of Taxation on or before the last day of the month following the end of each quarter. Quarters end March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31.

Send completed return below to:

Virginia Department of Taxation Virginia Cotton Assessment PO Box 2185 Richmond VA 23218-2185

Change of Address or Out-of-Business: If you change your business or mailing address, or if you are completely out of business, complete Form R-3, Registration Change Request or notify the department by letter. Send the form or letter to the Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1114, Richmond, Virginia 23218-1114.

Questions: Call (804) 786-2450 or write to the Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. You can obtain most Virginia tax forms at www. tax.virginia.gov.

Assessment Rate: The assessment for cotton ginned is \$.95 per bale.

Penalties and Interest: If the assessment is not paid when due, a penalty of 5% of the tax due will be added to the tax, and the Virginia Department of Taxation will notify the taxpayer of such delinquency. If any assessment is not paid within 30 days of the notification, interest will accrue on unpaid tax at the underpayment rate established by Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, plus 2%, from the due date through the date paid.

Declaration and Signature: Be sure to sign, date and enter your phone number on the return in the space indicated.

Attachment: Attach a list of each owner from whom the cotton assessment was collected and the amount paid. Be sure to include your name, address and account number on the list.

	Worksheet For Computing Cotton Assessment Complete this worksheet and transfer amounts to corresponding lines on Cotton Assessment Return (Form CX-1) belo						
		Total					
1	Number of Bales Enter the total number of bales of cotton ginned during the quarter covered by this return.						
2	Tax Multiply Line 1 by \$0.95.						
3	Penalty for Late Filing and Payment See instructions above.						
4	Interest for Late Filing and Payment See instructions above						
5	Total Enter total amount due. (Add Lines 2, 3 and 4)						

Detach at dotted line below. DO NOT SEND ENTIRE PAGE.

## Form CX-1 Virginia Cotton Assessment Return

(Doc ID 221)

For assistance, call (804)786-2450.

Period

Due Date

Check if Out-of-Business and enter the termination/sold date \_

## 

	Account Number		FEIN					
0								
01/20	Name							
> Ц Ү								
	Address							
9601.097								
2	City		State	Zip				
2								
Ś	I declare that this return (including accompanying schedules and statements) has been examined							
⊵ by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete.								
2		Data	Discontraction					
\$	Signature	Date	Phone Num	ber				

1	Number of Bales Line 1 from Worksheet	
2	Tax Line 2 from Worksheet	
3	Penalty for Late Filing and Payment	
4	Interest for Late Filing and Payment	
5	Total (Add Lines 2, 3 and 4)	